News:

write me a message if you are unable log in, if you need to recover your account, or if you would like to register a new account; also if the email address you used here before is not valid anymore.

Main Menu

Technical Question for everyone-hard drives

Started by Angel-of-Music, Fri, 2006-05-12, 13:15:04

Previous topic - Next topic

Angel-of-Music

I've been looking around and can't see that anyone has done this before, but apologies in advance if I missed it...... ;D

I'm doing a bit of research, and I'm interested to know what everyone's favourite make of hard drive is and why, as well as what you don't like about that make......

thanks!  ;D

Peter

I've been working with an Internet Company for the last 6 years now. They're running large datacenters with now well over 30000 servers. The experiences they made are -in short- the following:

Seagate drives are superior in speed and durability, plus they have a 5 year warranty now.
Hitachi (former IBM) drives are close up in speed and durability, but max 3 or even 2 years warranty
Maxtor drives are good for hanging to the wall

WD drives were tested long ago and were no good then, but they have a new offering of ATA drives now which promise to be as good as SCSI server drives.

I use Seagate drives in about 500 desktop machines I supervise and at home. Good choice so far.

No, I'm not on the Seagate payroll... :)
Arriving somewhere, but not here....

keyboardistmatt

I found Western Digital hard drives to be very touchy in computers that I've used, and WD just don't work on samplers at all.  WD seem to work best in Hewlett Packard PCs.

In my laptop (which I use for everything - including writing this) I use a 40GB Seagate drive without any trouble at all.

In my sampler (which is an E:MU 'ESynth') I exclusively use a 3GB Quantum 'Fireball' drive.  It is a little noisy, but for holding samples and sound information, it works like a dream! :)