News:

write me a message if you are unable log in, if you need to recover your account, or if you would like to register a new account; also if the email address you used here before is not valid anymore.

Main Menu

What are you reading at the moment?

Started by Xanxtuary, Sat, 2005-02-19, 17:43:49

Previous topic - Next topic

Xanxtuary

As I'm an avid reader and author, I wondered what other denizens of these hallowed fora have their noses into at the moment.  Well obviously not right now, since you're obviously browsing these fora and not reading a book, but you get my general idea.

Sci-fi and epic fantasy, sword and sorcery are my favourite genres, but I also enjoy psycho thrillers, legal thrillers and good old-fashioned whodunnits.  At times I read biographies and autobiographies of interesting personages.

I'm currently working my way through Orson Scott Card's Tales of Alvin Maker. I've just started on Volume Two-Red Prophet.  OSC never fails to bring tears to my eyes.  I highly recommend his Ender series and his Shadow series, all excellent stuff, full of moral dilemmas, emotive and creative writing. 

If I ever write anything that moves the reader to tears, then I know that I will have succeeded as an author.  That is the mark of a truly awesome mind.
Progpriestess Xanxtuary Hogweed

creme anglais

I have just finished Dan Brown's The Da Vinci Code........am now reading Dan Brown's Deception Point  .....I am only a small way through Deception Point.....and can't help getting weird sense of de ja vu.....just substitute politicians for the church as the "baddies" even the "heroes" are the same couple with different names!!!
The are some factual areas of both books..... but thrown together in a not very original way...... dissapointing because I raced through The Da Vinci code in 24hrs..... this is just too much the same book...... ::)