Author Topic: Project: Problem - what do I do with the "education-thing"?  (Read 15014 times)

Offline Valacar

• Broomstick
    • Progforum
Hello,

I am a German student of English- and American literatures, cultural studies and media studies. As I am as well a great fan of progressive rock music, I am by now working on a project comparing the Gothic scene with the Prog scene (if there is such a thing). One problem of my work is, that there is no such thing as a study of the Prog scene, while the Gothic scene (at least in Germany) is explored to some extent. If there is literature on Prog, its mostly about the music, a fact which is one argumentative aspect in my work. This is why I am launching some polls in this and some other forums in order to raise some statistical data so that my argumentation which will focus on my personal experiences mostly with the German scene but have some international references as well has some numbers to back it up.

If I can raise enough votes, I may even come back on that subject matter in a later project which could then deal with the prog scene exclusively, and who knows, maybe I will someday even be able to make a book out of it, but that's still just a fantasy.

So, I would be glad if some (or some more) could participate in the polls that I'll launch here. I'll count the results someday in January 2006.

Danke.

O. K. - now I have a problem. Since the international school systems greatly vary, I am searching for a sensible categorization for the different educational levels that we may have achieved. This is connected with the clichee of Prog as "students' music" - and I want to explore if there is something to that still today. So ... could somebody help me create a sensible poll for that? That would be fantastic, since I'll have the same problem in other international forums as well.

Danke.
"Slaying the dragon with my mighty Sword of Justice while drowning in the blood of my enemies and drinking huge amounts of beer!"